It’s Moira Rose’s favorite season but not everyone is feeling celebratory after the ATP revealed duo Darren Cahill and Simone Vagnozzi as their 2023 Coach(es) of the Year.

Novak Djokovic took to Instagram on Thursday morning upon the news that the co-coaches of rival Jannik Sinner had claimed victory over nominees that included Craig Boynton (Hubert Hurkacz), 2022 winner Juan Carlos Ferrero (Carlos Alcaraz), Ben Shelton’s father Bryan, and, of course, his own coach Goran Ivanisevic.

“Congratulations to Darren and Simone for a great season with Jannik,” wrote the world No. 1 over a graphic of the announcement.

“Goran, I guess we need to win 4/4 Slams in order for you to maybe (just maybe) be considered coach of the year. Winning Year End #1, 3 [Grand Slams] and [World Tour Finals] and making history of this sport is not enough, my dear coach…” he continued, concluding with a trio of cringe-faced emojis. 😬 😬 😬


Indeed, to compare Sinner and Djokovic’s seasons is to compare cute to gorgeous—and gorgeous typically devours cute.

Though Djokovic’s team has received ATP recognition in the past, none have captured Coach of the Year since Marjan Vajda took the award in 2018, just before Ivanisevic took over as head coach of the now-24-time Grand Slam champion.

Most bafflingly, Ivanisevic didn’t even receive a nomination in 2021, the last year in which Djokovic won three major titles and came within three sets of the Calendar Year Grand Slam. The award instead went to Facundo Lugones on behalf of Cameron Norrie.

As an eight-time Year-End World No. 1, Djokovic has received Player of the year eight times in kind, while Sinner claimed his first Fans’ Favorite Award after surging through the fall swing—even scoring his first win over Djokovic at the ATP Finals—to finish the season at a career-high of No. 4.

Who would nab your vote for Coach of the Year?