The battle for most titles this year came down to the last few weeks of the season for both tours, but at the end of the day it was the No. 1s—Novak Djokovic and Iga Swiatek—who came out on top.

By winning his seventh title of the year at the ATP Finals, Djokovic broke a tie with No. 2-ranked Carlos Alcaraz for most titles on the men’s tour this year. They both had six going into Turin.

MEN WITH 3+ TITLES IN 2023 (tour-level):

  • 7: Novak Djokovic [three majors, ATP Finals, two 1000s, one 250]
  • 6: Carlos Alcaraz [one major, two 1000s, two 500s, one 250]
  • 5: Daniil Medvedev [two 1000s, two 500s, one 250]
  • 4: Jannik Sinner [one 1000, two 500s, one 250]
  • 3: Sebastian Baez [three 250s]
  • 3: Adrian Mannarino [three 250s]

Seven other men—Andrey Rublev, Hubert Hurkacz, Taylor Fritz, Frances Tiafoe, Nicolas Jarry, Tallon Griekspoor and Alexander Bublik—finished the year with two titles under their belts.

And there’s more—Djokovic has now surpassed Jimmy Connors for most years in the Open Era winning five or more titles.

MOST YEARS WINNING 5+ TITLES (men, tour-level, Open Era):

  • 12: Novak Djokovic [2007, 2009, 2011-2016, 2019, 2021-2023]
  • 11: Jimmy Connors [1972-1980, 1982, 1984]
  • 10: Roger Federer [2003-2007, 2010, 2012, 2014-2015, 2017]
  • 9: Rafael Nadal [2005-2010, 2013, 2017-2018]
  • 9: Ivan Lendl [1980-1983, 1985-1987, 1989-1990]


Meanwhile, Swiatek and Coco Gauff both headed into the fall season tied for most titles on the women’s tour with four each—but Swiatek broke that tie by winning her fifth title of the year in Beijing, then topped it off with a sixth at the WTA Finals in Cancun.

WOMEN WITH 3+ TITLES IN 2023 (tour-level):

  • 6: Iga Swiatek [one major, WTA Finals, one 1000, two 500s, one 250]
  • 4: Coco Gauff [one major, one 1000, one 500, one 250]
  • 3: Aryna Sabalenka [one major, one 1000, one 500]

Swiatek is actually the first woman in a decade to win a WTA 250, a WTA 500, a WTA 1000, the WTA Finals and a Grand Slam title in the same season. Serena Williams achieved the feat in 2013, winning two majors, the WTA Finals, five 1000s, two 500s and a 250.

Eight other women—Elena Rybakina, Jessica Pegula, Ons Jabeur, Barbora Krejcikova, Petra Kvitova, Zheng Qinwen, Belinda Bencic and Katerina Siniakova—captured two titles this year.